» Become a Member  •  Member Login

Home » News

July 20, 2004
CWA logo
For information contract:
William R. Tolley
Construction Writers Association
Bookmark and Share

Construction Writers Association Elects Officers and Directors

(Buffalo Grove, IL) Members of the Construction Writers Association have a new board of directors headed by its new president, Don Marsh, editor of Concrete Products magazine, Chicago, IL. Marsh has previously served the association as a director, vice president, and chair of the Midyear Meeting committee.

Jan Tuchman, a CWA past president and editor-in-chief of Engineering News-Record, New York, NY, served as nominating committee chair and presented the slate during CWA's Annual Meeting, held this spring in Washington, DC.

Additional officers elected by CWA members are 1st vice president Jenni Prokopy, principal of Orange Grove Media, Chicago, IL, and 2nd vice president Sharon Holling, marketing administrator for the trade press with Caterpillar Inc., Peoria, IL. Prokopy has previously served CWA as a director, as chair of the association�s journalism awards program, and as chair of CWA's annual World of Concrete reception. Holling has also been a director and chair of the journalism awards program. She recently organized a CWA event at the BAUMA show in Munich, Germany.

CWA's five newly-elected directors are Brenda Aschliman, director of corporate communications for Walter P. Moore, Houston, TX; Christina Fisher, editor of Construction magazine, Charlotte, NC; Tony Illia, a freelance writer and correspondent for ENR, Las Vegas, NV; Judy Schriener, editor in chief of McGraw-Hill's website Construction.com, New York, NY; and Rick Yelton of Hanley-Wood, editor of Concrete Producer and Masonry Construction, Addison, IL. Fisher and Schriener were re-elected, having previously served on the board.

Shortly after the CWA Annual Meeting, director Norida Torriente resigned because she left the construction industry. The CWA board has voted to appoint Jane Howell, director of communications for the American Society of Civil Engineers, to serve the remainder of Torriente's term. Torriente, who was senior manager of external relations for ASCE, also served as 2004 Annual Meeting chair.

Continuing on the CWA Board of Directors are past president Jack Roberts, senior editor of Equipment World, Tuscaloosa, AL; executive director Sheila Wertz, principal of Berkshire Consulting Group, Buffalo Grove, IL; and four directors: Mike Anderson, editor of Equipment Journal, Mississauga, ONT, Canada; Tracie Christie, associate director of awards and marketing for National Asphalt Pavement Association, Lanham, MD; Susan Garritano, public relations manager for McCarthy Building Companies Inc., St. Louis, MO; and Ed Rehfeld, communications manager for the Laborers-Employers Cooperation and Education Trust, Washington, DC.

CWA members also thanked those completing their service on the board: past president Dennis Day, executive director for public affairs for the Associated General Contractors of America, Alexandria, VA; director Kirk Landers, editorial director for Better Roads magazine, Des Plaines, IL; and director Michael J. Reilly, principal of Reilly Communications, South Boston, MA.

Construction Writers Association is a non-profit, non-partisan, international organization for professional journalists, writers, editors, publicists, and marketing communications professionals serving the information needs of the construction industry. The group strives to provide educational benefits and networking to its membership. CWA's website is www.constructionwriters.org .

View Scrapbook of Photos

For information: