» Become a Member  •  Member Login

Home » News

July 20, 2004
CWA logo
For information contract:
William R. Tolley
Construction Writers Association
Bookmark and Share

Construction Writers Association Congratulates Its 2004 Journalism and Photojournalism Award Winners

(Buffalo Grove, IL) Members of the Construction Writers Associations applauded the winners of its Silver Hard Hat, Journalism and Photojournalism Awards at its Annual Meeting and awards Dinner in Washington, DC. Jack Roberts, senior editor of Equipment World magazine and 2003-4 president of CWA, emceed the events.

CWA's highest honor, the Silver Hard Hat Award for service to the industry, was presented to Charles H. Thornton, chairman of Thornton-Tomasetti-Cutts, Washington, DC. He received the honor for creating the ACE Mentoring Program, a nationwide organization that introduces inner-city high school students to construction industry careers and gives them a head start at breaking in through mentoring, internships and college scholarships. Judy Schriener, editor in chief of the McGraw-Hill website construction.com, co-chair of the Silver Hard Hat committee and a CWA director, presented the award.

CWA's oldest journalism awards are the Robert F. Boger Awards for Feature Articles, Special Reports, and Editorials, which were established in 1975. They are named for the former publisher of Engineering News-Record and Construction Methods & Equipment, who was a primary force in founding CWA. Tracie Christie, associate director of awards and marketing for the National Asphalt Pavement Association, made the presentations. Christie is chair of CWA's journalism and photojournalism awards committee and a director of the association.

Walt Moore, senior editor of Construction Equipment magazine, won the Boger Award for Feature Articles for a piece called "Grade-Control Systems with Added Dimension" that was published in Construction Equipment. Dan Brown, principal of TechniComm, received an honorable mention in this category for "Work Zones: One Step from Death," which was published in Grading & Excavation Contractor.

The Boger Award for Special Reports was presented to Robert Cassidy, editor in chief; Gordon Wright, executive editor; Larry Flynn, senior editor; and Dave Barista, associate editor, all of Building Design & Construction magazine, for their report on "Sustainable Development," published in BD&C. An honorable mention in this category went to Aileen Cho, transportation editor of Engineering News-Record, for "Airports of the Future," published in ENR.

The Boger Award for Editorials went to William G. Krizan, assistant managing editor of Engineering News-Record, for "Hot-Wire the Grid," "Unlock Gridlock," and "A Ground Zero Icon," all published in ENR. An honorable mention in this category was presented to Don Marsh, editor of Concrete Products magazine, for "Spirit of Capitalism Escapes Texans' Assassination Attempt," published in Concrete Products.

CWA's T. Randolph Russell Award for Newsletter Excellence was established in 1993 to honor the former newsletter editor for the American Road & Transportation Builders Association. This year's award was presented to Paul Levin, editor/publisher for WPL Publishing Co. Inc., for his newsletter, "Construction Claims Advisor"

The Kneeland Godfrey Award for Body of Work was established in 1999. It honors a CWA past president who edited Civil Engineering Magazine and authored books and newsletters as well. The 2004 award went to Alison Rice of Hanley-Wood for "Chicago Hope," "Attack of the Killer Insurance Quote," and "A House Divided," all published in Builder magazine. An honorable mention was awarded to Dave Barista, associate editor at Building Design & Construction for "Technical Issues and Trends in Nonresidential Construction," published in BD&C.

CWA established its Photojournalism Awards in 2004 to recognize the increasing importance of photographs as a means of communication and attracting readers to articles. Photos were judged as single photographs or in a series of related photographs.

The 2004 Photojournalism Award for Feature Photograph winner is Michael Goodman, principal of Michael Goodman Photography, for "Seattle Page Turner," published in Engineering News-Record. An honorable mention in this category went to Tom Hale, editor of Construction Digest, for "Reconstructing I-70 in Illinois," published in Construction Digest.

There were two winners of the 2004 Photojournalism Award for Series of Related Photographs: John Boykin of John Boykin Photography won for "Bridge Over Lake Belton," published in Texas Contractor, and Tom Sawyer, associate editor for information technology, Engineering News-Record, for "Watch & Wait," "Focused," and "Review," photos taken in Kuwait and Iraq in spring 2004 and published in ENR.

Judges for the journalism awards included Margaret Cervarich of the National Asphalt Pavement Association, Lanham, MD; Mark Sprouls of Tucson, AZ; and Sylvia Smith of Alexandria, VA. Sprouls and Marshall Cohen of Washington, DC, judged the photojournalism awards.

Construction Writers Association is a non-profit, non-partisan, international organization for professional journalists, writers, editors and publicists serving the information needs of the construction industry. The group strives to provide educational benefits and networking to its membership. CWA's website is www.constructionwriters.org .

View Scrapbook of Photos

For information: